Go to Kentucky.gov home page
Kentucky Legislative Ethics Commission (Banner Imagery) - click to go to homepage. Kentucky Legislative Ethics Commission (Banner Imagery) - click to go to homepage. Kentucky Legislative Ethics Commission (Banner Imagery) - click to go to homepage.

Commission Members


George C. Troutman - Mr. Troutman is the Chairman of the Commission.  The Speaker of the House appointed him to the Commission in 1994.  Mr. Troutman graduated from St. Xavier High School and Bellarmine University where he majored in accounting.  He is currently self-employed as a Certified Public Accountant, a member of the American and Kentucky Society of CPAs and the American Board of Forensic Accounting.  Mr. Troutman served on the Registry of Election Finance from 1992 to April of 1994.  He and his wife Mary live in Louisville, Kentucky.

Elmer George – Mr. George was appointed to the Commission by the Speaker of the House in January, 2014.  He is currently a practicing lawyer in Marion County. He's a Graduate of Bellarmine University and University of Kentucky Law School.  He and his wife live in Lebanon, Kentucky.

Deborah Jo Durr – Ms. Durr was appointed to the Commission by the Speaker of the House in July, 2009.  She is President of Richwood Manor, a horse farm in northern Kentucky.  Ms. Durr has an extensive record of civic and educational service, including serving on the Gateway Community & Technical College Board of Directors, Boone County Education Foundation, Kentucky Commission on Volunteerism, and as President of the Northern Kentucky District of the Parent/Teacher Association.  She earned a Master’s degree in Career Counseling from Morehead State University, and a B.S. in Biology from Northern Kentucky University.  She resides in Richwood, Kentucky.


Norma Scott - Mrs. Scott was appointed to the Commission by the President of the Senate in 2005.  She graduated from Earlington High School and Western Kentucky University, where she received a B.A. in Elementary Education.  A former school teacher, Mrs. Scott is president of Fugate Lumber Co., which has locations in Madisonville, Eddyville, and Powderly.  Mrs. Scott and her husband Gerald live in Madisonville, Kentucky.

Charles R. Borders - Mr. Borders was appointed to the Commission by the Senate President in April, 2014.  He recently completed a four-year term as a member of the Kentucky Public Service Commission.  Before joining the PSC, Mr. Borders served in the Kentucky Senate, representing the 18th District in northeast Kentucky from 1991 to 2009.  He was executive director of King’s Daughters Health Foundation and director of administrative services for King’s Daughters Medical Center in Ashland.  He’s also been a real estate broker.  Mr. Borders is a past member of the Kentucky Council on Post-Secondary Education and of the Kentucky Workforce Investment Board.  He is a graduate of Morehead State University, where he received a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration and a Master of Business Administration. Mr. Borders and his wife Carol reside in Grayson. They have two children and two grandchildren.

Bob Fulkerson – Mr. Fulkerson was appointed to the Commission by the President of the Senate in 2004.  He is a graduate of Owensboro Senior High School and attended Southwestern College, Dallas, Texas.  He is a retired manager of General Electric Appliance Park in Louisville.  Currently, he devotes his time to community service and religious activities.  In the past, he has been an active participant in his political party both as a candidate for elected office and party official. He and his wife Edna live in Louisville, Kentucky.

Pat Freibert – Mrs. Freibert is the Vice-Chairman of the Commission.  She was re-appointed to the Commission by President of the Senate in November, 2008.  She previously served on the Ethics Commission from 2000-2004.  She is a former member of the House of Representatives.  Mrs. Freibert has a long record of involvement in political, civic, educational, and charitable affairs for which she has received local, state and national recognition.  She is also a free lance writer for several publications.  In 2004, Mrs. Freibert was appointment by Governor Ernie Fletcher to the Kentucky Commission on Women and served as Chairwoman.  She and her husband, David, reside in Lexington, Kentucky.

Henry Stephens

Henry L. Stephens, Jr. -- Mr. Stephens was appointed to the Commission by the Legislative Research Commission in June, 2014.  He is a Professor of Law at Northern Kentucky University’s Chase College of Law.  He was Dean of the College of Law from 1986 to 1992, and Associate Dean from 1981 to 1985. Mr. Stephens served as Assistant Attorney General and staff attorney for the Kentucky Department for Natural Resources and Environmental Protection, spent two years as Assistant Counsel for the Louisville-Jefferson County Board of Health, and has 16 years in general trial and environmental practice. Mr. Stephens completed mediator training at the Harvard College of Law Program for Instruction of Lawyers, and is listed in Best Lawyers In America in the category of Alternative Dispute Resolution.  He is a past President of the Kentucky Bar Foundation, and past Chairman of the Board of Trustees for the Center for the Resolution of Disputes, Inc. He received his B.A. from Western Kentucky University in 1972 and his J.D. from the University of Kentucky in 1975, where he was a member of the Kentucky Law Journal staff and Moot Court Board.  He and his wife reside in Union, Kentucky.

Judge Paul D. Gudgel – Judge Gudgel was appointed by the Speaker of the House in 2002.  Judge Gudgel received both his BA and LLB degrees from the University of Kentucky.  After practicing law in Lexington, he entered judicial service in 1970, serving as a trial commissioner in the municipal and quarterly courts, and as Chief District Judge.  In 1979, he was appointed to the Court of Appeals and served on that court until 2002, including five years as Chief Judge.  He retired from the Court in November 2002.  Judge Gudgel earned a Master of Laws degree from the University of Virginia and also served as a member of the Judicial Conduct Commission for 22 years.  He and his wife, Katherine, reside in Lexington.


Last Updated 8/7/2014
Privacy | Security | Disclaimer | Accessibility Statement