Commission Staff

H. John Schaaf Executive Director

Photo of H. John SchaafMr. Schaaf joined the Legislative Ethics Commission in June 2004. Prior to that, he was the General Counsel and staff attorney for the Legislative Research Commission since 1988. His other employment experience includes several years with a Louisville law firm, and a brief stint as editor of a weekly newspaper. He received a journalism degree from the University of Kentucky and a J.D. from the University of Louisville School of Law.

Kara L. Daniel Counsel

Photo of vacantMs. Daniel joined the Commission staff in October 2015 and serves as counsel to the Commission. Before joining the Commission staff, she was the General Counsel for the Justice & Public Safety Cabinet and prior to that, she worked as an attorney for the Legislative Research Commission from 2003 to 2012. Her other employment experience includes working at the Kentucky Bar Association in the area of attorney ethics and working at a small law firm in Paducah. She received a bachelor’s degree from Centre College and a J.D. from the University of Kentucky College of Law.

Donnita B. Crittenden Executive Assistant

Photo of Donnita B. CrittendenMrs. Crittenden is the Executive Assistant in the Commission office. She is a graduate of Franklin County High School, and has a BA in Public Administration from Kentucky State University. Mrs. Crittenden joined the Commission in August 1993. Her previous experience includes a three-year internship with the Kentucky Department of Education, specifically assigned to the State Board of Education.

Lori M. Smither Staff Assistant

Photo of Connie Y. EvansMrs. Smither is the Staff Assistant in the Commission office.  She is a graduate of Franklin County High School and has a degree in four areas of Interdisciplinary Early Childhood Education.  In addition, Lori has obtained certificates for the Kentucky Director’s Credential, Kentucky Child Care Provider, School Age Child Care, Interdisciplinary Early Childhood Education Technical Studies, and Early Childhood Administrator.  Her previous experience includes working as a Member Service Representative at a banking institution for seven years, as a Director/Teacher for 11 years, and part-time in the Commission Office for eight years.